Civil Designer Software
Functions and Features
Survey & Terrain
Tech Tip Tutorials
Backup And Auto Save Recovery
This tech tip explains the difference between backup files and Auto save recovery.
A backup drawing is a copy of a drawing that gets created after the drawing is saved. Backup drawings are saved in the folder where the original drawing is saved.
If the option to create two versions of a backup is ticked under
Settings > System Settings
, two versions of the backup will be saved in the same folder where the drawing is saved.
The versions of the backups will be over-written as newer versions of the backup are created.
Backup files will get updated every time you save the drawing.
NB: YOU MUST SAVE THE DRAWING IN ORDER TO UPDATE THE DRAWING
To recover backup files, go to the folder where the files are saved, and rename a file that has file extension
Crash recovery recovers the files which were not saved but remain within a period of time specified under the crash recovery settings (for example 5 minutes).
Crash recovery files are Templar files that are stored under:
\AppData\Local\Temp\Knowledge Base Software
The user also has the option to specify the path of a folder where autoSAVE can read crashed files.
Civil Designer automatically updates these files according to the time specified on the crash recovery settings.
it is not advisable to recover crashed files by copying and pasting elsewhere and renaming the file extension.
print friendly version
©Civil Designer 2017 |
T: +27 21 7011 850
Stay up-to-date via a monthly email
- professional software for civil engineering infrastructure
design, architects, surveyors, mechanical & structural engineers.